Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Do you miss a sequencer feature or do you have an idea how to improve our sequencer? You're right here - tell us what you want to see in B-Step Sequencer.
Post Reply
User avatar
Monoman
Posts: 504
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 03:30

Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Post by Monoman » 01 Feb 2015, 22:06

It would be good if you could just drag with the mouse across a row of steps to input data (turn them all on), just like you can do in FLStudio. And dragging across the steps again, deletes the data (turns the notes off).

This is handy when you want one of those 16th note hi-hat patterns. Quickly done with this method. Otherwise, you have to click 16 times. Pain.

This would be a great feature to have. It might have been mentioned before, if so, sorry. Just giving some thoughts while I have them.

User avatar
monotomy
Posts: 2123
Joined: 23 Jan 2013, 16:23
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Post by monotomy » 01 Feb 2015, 22:55

Hi Monoman,

do you know B-Step's multi drag feature?

Just drag a element with the right mouse over it's siblings. This will copy the state of the dragged to the all siblings you hit. You can copy whole bars or steps with this feature too.

If you are using a touch screen you can do this by holding down your finger longer than 750ms (default).

Extensive usage of this feature in this tutorial video.

>> OPEN YOUTUBE IN A NEW TAB AND WATCH THIS VIDEO


See:
http://b-step.monoplugs.com/manual#multidrag
http://b-step.monoplugs.com/manual#multidrag-settings
http://b-step.monoplugs.com/manual#special-drags

Is this what you want to do?

User avatar
Monoman
Posts: 504
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 03:30

Re: Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Post by Monoman » 03 Feb 2015, 04:25

I will check the video later to see.

For now, food then bed. In that order.

On first glance though, I think you have already done what I suggest.

Cool.

I need to spend more time with B and not make stupid feature requests.

:-)

User avatar
TonE
Posts: 558
Joined: 09 Mar 2013, 14:12

Re: Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Post by TonE » 03 Feb 2015, 08:44

Or it is not the users 'mistake' but the manuals? ;-)
Some introductory, summary coolness chapter might be necessary? But then, even this nobody might want to read.

User avatar
Monoman
Posts: 504
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 03:30

Re: Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Post by Monoman » 06 Feb 2015, 01:39

I finally got this to work. I found it hard making the settings for it to work. Probably just me being dumb.

Works great now I have figured it out. Great feature. Shoulda RTFM. ;-)


User avatar
Monoman
Posts: 504
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 03:30

Re: Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Post by Monoman » 06 Feb 2015, 20:35

monotomy wrote::?: :?: :?: :arrow: RTFM :idea: :!: :!: :!:

:roll:
Well, I would have, but I couldn't read the text, until you changed it. And I was busy with testing other things so had no time. I tried it again when I was very tired and playing about and hence my comment.

I just thought it might be useful feedback for you. If I found it non-intuitive then maybe others would too?

It wasn't a criticism, just an observation. Really, you shouldn't have to RTFM for such a feature, really.

User avatar
Monoman
Posts: 504
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 03:30

Re: Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Post by Monoman » 06 Feb 2015, 20:46

Also, did I mention that the text is too small for me to read on my screen? I'm sorry, I don't have perfect eyesight anymore and need to get glasses. I think I mentioned this maybe 4/5 times?

I still can not read it without it hurting my eyes. Though it is better than it was and I can read it if I strain.

One of the drawbacks of working on GUIs and Artwork for long periods of time.

And I have a condition where my eyes are more sensitive to light than most other people. I actually feel like I need to wear sunglasses at night 'sometimes' to walk down the road because the streetlamps and headlights from cars hurt my eyes.

It wasn't laziness.

User avatar
monotomy
Posts: 2123
Joined: 23 Jan 2013, 16:23
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Dragging across all steps, inputs data to all steps

Post by monotomy » 07 Feb 2015, 00:59

Monoman wrote:
monotomy wrote::?: :?: :?: :arrow: RTFM :idea: :!: :!: :!:

:roll:
Well, I would have, but I couldn't read the text, until you changed it. And I was busy with testing other things so had no time. I tried it again when I was very tired and playing about and hence my comment.

I just thought it might be useful feedback for you. If I found it non-intuitive then maybe others would too?

It wasn't a criticism, just an observation. Really, you shouldn't have to RTFM for such a feature, really.
Excuse me, RTFM was just funny and my post should be funny too...

Yes, you are right, but how to communicate such features better?
Should the multidrag feature work for buttons via left mouse too?

You should use a dark desktop theme if you not already use one.

Post Reply